Freya, in progress

I’m finishing up the final few edits for “Freya,” which will be the first story I publish on Amazon (and maybe a few other sites . . . We’ll see.). The guy handling all my technical stuff is going to make some time and read over it this weekend before I turn in some last-minute changes and he starts formatting.

I’m nervous about this for a few reasons. The first is that, though I’ve written before, this is going to be the first time that I’ll really be out there. I’ve had a few people read this story with generally positive responses, so I’m more confident about sharing the tale, but I can’t shake that first-time stage fright. But this is the part where I’m going to take that first deep breath and move into a spotlight (and hope that I can remember my lines for once).

Another part of the story that has me nervous is that it’s zombie fiction. I love anything related to zombies, but I know that it’s also one of the strictest genres to work with. Fans have certain expectations of what zombies should be, and those expectations are usually opposites. I really want to explore my own breed of zombie (which I promise will be much more developed in future stories), but I am worried about the reception of said brain eaters.

I do intend for every story that takes place in this world to be able to stand on its own, but I also want them interlocked. Characters from “Freya” will definitely make cameos in other stories (and some will even have their own stories), but I do want to write the stories in such a way that you won’t necessarily have to read every single story to be satisfied. I feel that this story is solid, even if it ended up being the only story in that world.

For the most part, I consider myself a fantasy writer and not science fiction. Even as I consider where the world of “Freya” will eventually head, I envision it as more of an urban science fantasy than strict post-apocalyptica. There are elements in place in “Freya” that will definitely hint at big reveals later on in the storyline, and I will try to pull those reveals off as skillfully as possible.

I think that about wraps up the feelings of pre-publication jitters. I’ll put another post up later about some of “Freya”‘s finer points, but I don’t want to give too much away just yet.

I hope to undergo much growth as a writer, and I hope I can keep you guys entertained while I do.

Hopefully “Freya” will be published before May. If it’s not up by then, I don’t think it will be later than the first weekend.

I hope you guys enjoy!

-Brad

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

