Soulless and Siren, updated

Hey guys. It’s been a while since I’ve posted an update, so I thought I’d let any faithful followers out there know what’s happening.

I’ve been scribbling away at some chapters each day at work (I’m a telephone operator), and I’ve finally made progress on what I’m hoping to be my first novel, Soulless. Since I’m at work answering around 100 phone calls per hour (many of which are disconnects or fax machines, but I still have to deal with a lot of customers), the writing comes across a bit jagged, but I’m trying to soften those edges as I copy from scratch paper to OpenOffice. It’s hard to remember individual traits and how certain things work with the phone’s ever-present beep in my ear, but I’m confident I can fix much of that in my first content edit.

The characters are beginning to reveal themselves to me, becoming less wooden. I know more about their goals and motivations now and am eager to go back through the story and make sure the earlier chapters reflect that. Caru slowly loses a thirst for mindless racist vengeance; Kimke fears uselessness with a wrecked body, no longer able to use magic; Mieta questions her own humanity, fearful that her own people are capable of atrocities; Martel is determined not to let a physical change force him to break his oaths. I’ve had fun meeting these characters, and I can only hope that I’ll become a good enough writer over the next few months to tell their story the right way.

Lots of alliteration has crept its way into Soulless. That’s never something I’ve focused on with writing before, and I’m not sure if it’s good or bad that it’s happening by accident. I’ll see how I deal with it during the edits.

I have 22 (very rough) chapters done at the moment, with a word count of around 39,000. I am nearly on track–having originally meant for the story to be around 75,000 words–but I may run over a little. 75,000 may be a good estimate, but it could run as high as 90,000. As far as I know, it’s a stand-alone novel, but I do sometime find myself wondering what happens after the last scenes.

I will probably publish one or two chapters on WordPress as I get them edited. I think it’s important to leave a few writing samples lying around. Chapter 1 still needs heavy edits, but I think it will be one of the most exciting parts of the book when I write it the way it’s meant to be written. I don’t think I’d have any problems putting that out to (hopefully) draw you guys in.

On to other things:

“Freya” sales are starting off a bit slow, but that’s to be expected. I don’t have enough content out there to be noticeable, so I’m not expecting financial miracles just yet. I remain confident about that story, though, even if I do think about other things I may add later. Something of an “expanded” story, I suppose, maybe with another 3,000 to 5,000 words. We’ll see how that goes.

The new cover is still in the works, but the artist, Ashlee Jones, is still a college student and still has to deal with college nuisances (namely summer semester finals). I’ve seen what she’s done so far, though, and it’s amazing. I’m looking forward to the final product and am eager to swap out the cover I designed for her art. I said when I started writing “Freya” that I wanted that world to have a graphic novel feel, and I think she’s definitely capturing that intention.

The followup/parallel story to “Freya”–“Siren”–is nearly complete. Most of the story is there, just needing an ending. It shouldn’t take too much longer, but I did not want to write the ending on scratch paper at work while having to deal with answering the phone. It’s an ending I want to sit down and take my time with. Also need to go back and plug up a few plot holes.

Other stories in that zombie realm are incubating, but I want to pace myself with them. Finish the one I have, then move to the next, I think that will be the best.

With luck, I should have “Siren” ready for publication on Amazon alongside “Freya” by the end of September. The first draft of Soulless I think should be done at around the same time or maybe a little into October. What I really want to do is publish a short story every two months, and a novel about once a year.

It may be a bumpy ride at the beginning, but in the end I’m determined not to let you guys down.

I’ll keep you posted.

-Brad

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

