Siren, editing

I finished the first draft of “Siren” last week and have been trying to work through and make a few edits. This is one of the more crucial parts of the story, because it’s where I’ll take what is basically a lump of raw material and try to turn it into something much more entertaining to read (my rough drafts usually turn into a “laundry list” of events). I do, however, think that much of Siren’s character comes through in this story and that it ties in with “Freya” decently enough. I may try to add different tie-ins with upcoming plots (those that I know by now) as well. As I sit and write this post, there is a one-line mention I know I want to add in for what will be the third zombie novelette. I’ll see to it.

I still wrestle with the idea of putting original song lyrics into the story. I’m a terrible poet and most likely an even worse songwriter. That is part of the story, though. Part of the character anyway. I’ll probably slip a verse in, but not much more than that.

As it stands, “Siren” is around the same length as “Freya,” coming in at just under the 15,000 word mark. If at all possible, I want to keep all five of these stories around the same length. A part of me wants to say that each and every story will be as long or as short as it needs to be, but I don’t want any of them to dominate or fall away from the collection. So far, so good, and it should help me to abbreviate some of the longer passages should I begin rambling.

I do want to have this story out within the next two weeks–at least by the end of the month–but I want it to prove itself against a higher standard. Yes, it may be considered “just another zombie story,” but I want it to be one I can feel pride in. Yes, it’s genre fiction, but I do want it to read as something more than B-movie.

With other stories, the first act of Soulless is completed (as a rough draft with nearly 50,000 words), and I can tell that the story is developing a life of its own. The action escalates, but I am to a point of the story I know very little about. I’m interested to see how it works through the second act, as I am plunging into this rather blindly. I do know how it ends, but I know there are going to be some surprise developments along the way (to me), and that I’m at a point now where I definitely need a reconciliation between characters.

More about that later, though.

I do want to mention here the people I always call upon when a story nears its end, the people I pester to review and provide opinions. The feedback is generally positive and often critical, which I do appreciate. I hound people about looking over these things, and their input is invaluable. I love the help I get from such caring and understanding people.

I appreciate you as well, sitting there reading this. At this point, I feel like I’ve dragged you along through several sagas of development with little actual work to show for it. The gears do turn, though, and I feel a renewed determination. These stories are working their way through my brain and fingers, and I can only hope to make you proud one day for following me from the beginning. If it’s within my power, I promise I will make it worth your while.

Thanks everyone. With luck, I’ll be expanding my content soon.

-Brad

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

