Siren and NaNoWriMo

For those of you who don’t already know, November is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as you’ll undoubtedly see on Twitter or hear spoken (it is also No-Shave November, but that is for a different blog). The goal is for writers to produce 50,000 words in 30 days–averaging out to 1667 words/day. Past participants will let you know that you’re not looking for quality, edited words, just words to let you know that you can. The challenge may seem a bit daunting, but I keep telling myself that I’ve already written 82,000 words for the year. Of course, that means I only average 8,200/month, but I took a rather lackluster attitude towards it until around June (which I know still doesn’t give me a huge average output).

1,667 words in a single day may seem like a lot, but it’s not really so bad. While word production is one of the main goals of NaNoWriMo, time management is also prevalent. When I sit down to write, I usually get between 1,500 and 2,200 words in a single session. It’s not as hard as you might think, but my problem is actually putting time aside to get it done. This is about discipline and putting creativity over distraction.

You–yes, you–have it in you to do this. I’m confident that anyone has at least 50,000 words to tell. If nothing else, you’ll have fun doing it, and it’s always nice to see yourself making progress towards a goal.

To give you some more writing math, the average page in a paperback novel holds 250 words. If you meet your NaNoWriMo goal, you’ll effectively have 200 pages of a manuscript. They may not necessarily be pretty or complete (Or maybe it will be complete. You can do a lot with intermediate-length works now), but they will definitely give you a solid stepping stone towards something you’ll be proud of.

I will not be writing all 50,000 words in a single work. Rather, I’m going to use the goal amount to 1) finish my novel, Soulless, and 2) write the third story in the as-yet unnamed zombie series. The short story/novella should come out around 15,000 words, and I doubt Soulless will take another 35,000 to finish (the manuscript so far has 66,000).

I think I will put any leftover amount (or may even start in the next week or so) into starting a serial fiction here on WordPress. I don’t have any plots in mind at the moment, but I really want a beginning. A goal may present itself at some point, but I would like to start a story with no clear ending–maybe 2,500 words per week. If you think of it as a webcomic without artwork, you wouldn’t be wrong. Since it will be a never-ending (should probably put quotes there) story, I will post it for free; partially because I think it would be unfair to charge for it, and also because I would like to have more writing examples and content here so you can make a more educated decision about whether or not you would like to read more of my material.

I have a draft of “Siren” that I’m happy with (changed very little from the free-to-read version that was here about a week and a half ago), and it should be up for sale on Amazon for $0.99 as soon as I can get a cover for it and a few final feedbacks. I think you guys are going to like it, and I hope it’s interesting enough that you’ll come back for more. I meant to have that story out a lot sooner, and I apologize for the delay. Then again, NaNoWriMo is about discipline, so maybe I’ll take something more away from this than written material.

I’m at 02138/50000. How about you?

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Siren and NaNoWriMo

  1. Ashlee Jones says:

    Man, I HAVE to finish the Freya cover before Siren goes up lol.

Leave a Reply

