Siren, On Amazon

The last remnants of humanity cling to existence after the zombie horde ravaged the world. Survival is still difficult, but at last people turn to reclamation, hoping to regain an era of cheeseburgers and gasoline, a time when sleep wasn’t always filled with nightmares.

Siren and the Historians like her help people remember what once was, try to give them a goal to keep in mind. Stories, music, whatever it takes to keep survivors happy. She serves as a barrier, trying as best she can to keep others away from grief that may otherwise consume their minds.

“If a song can rebuild the world, then so be it.”

But what of the forgotten ones, the Valkyries who try to remain distant from their lives before the Fall? One laugh, one song, one Valkyrie makes young Siren question if they really are beyond salvation after all.

“Siren” is a novella, approximately 15,000 words in length.

I finally manned up and got “Siren” out there. This was one of those projects I was happy with, but kept telling myself it needed “just one more edit” until I worried I would start losing actual pieces of the story. So here it is. Maybe it will need another edit, but I’ll probably save that for the compilation to come later, and such an edit won’t be a major one anyway.

There are a few links to “Freya” in this story, but “Siren” should still read independently. They also don’t need to be read in any certain order, which I hope is nice. I need to come up with a name for this series though. I have plenty of time for that, so there’s no major rush.

The next story has started, and I’m still discovering where it’s going. The third installment will actually be a re-write of the story that got this series rolling through my mind a few years ago (around 2007, I think), one I called “Convoy” but never finished. I feel like the character in this one has much more depth than in the original draft. I think I know where it will tie in with “Freya” and “Siren” and maybe a few other works to be announced later. I like the new one so far–it comes out swinging, even if the opening scene is in the bed of a pickup truck.

I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress and will hopefully let you know something soon about the serial fiction project. I have a few ideas I want to explore in an urban fantasy setting, maybe involving a “God Armor” idea I had for a story way back in my high school days. Yes, I know God Armor has been done before, but I’m trying to work out things until I know it’s unique. I want my zombie stories to have a graphic novel feel to them, but whenever I think about the serial story, it feels more like an anime. Hopefully not a bad thing.

Trust me, I believe a Saiyan should be able to screw in a light bulb in fewer than four episodes.

If you want to read more about “Siren”‘s development, most of that is in previous posts. If you’re interested, it is now up for sale on Amazon here for $0.99. Lending is enabled, and of course feel free to download the sample first to see if the opening scene is enough to pull you in.

As always, I hope you guys enjoy! Thanks for sticking with me.

-Brad

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Writing, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

