Plans for 2012

This post may be a rehashing of previous posts, but I thought I’d share some ideas and let you guys know where I’m heading.

To say the least, December and January have been slow months for me in my writing. I’ve hardly made any progress, and I would go on and on about stresses of the holiday seasons and some other technical issues, but I also know that explanations are rarely excuses. I’ll pick up the pace and get some more material out for you to enjoy.

But, hey, let’s talk about that material.

Coward

“Coward” will be the third installment of the zombie series (which I still haven’t named). As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, this will be a detective story of sorts, set seven years after the Fall. Where “Freya” and “Siren” were both recollections of previous events that ended with present scenes, “Coward” will actually be set in the present. This story will happen during those final scenes, if not a little after. I think I’m most excited about this story since I think it will be one where I finally put my personal brand on the tale and (hopefully) set it apart from other zombie material.

Not that other zombie material is necessarily bad, but I do have some twists of my own I want to throw in. This will all tie together soon, and I’m hoping I’ll have to skill to actually pull off what I have planned.

Soulless

I posted Chapter 1 of Soulless here for you to sample if you’re so inclined. I think I like the beginning, but I also feel like it needs to be more violent to convey the intensity of the forces that overtake the erman race during the Soulless phase. Don’t worry, this won’t be 400 pages of gore and violence, nor will Caru Freehaven be a massively powerful force through the entire story. I like Caru and am trying to keep him from falling into a Mary Sue/Stanley Stu role. The opening chapter deals with having power, but much of the book deals with the crippling loss of power.

Soulless will be the spring board for my body of work and one that holds many things together. I’ll try not to bludgeon readers with the connections though.

As it stands, Soulless will be a single novel, not part of a trilogy or . . . decology? It’s not going to be an epic, but it’s a starting point, an explanation for other stories. I guess this will make more sense in time.

Unnamed Serial

I said before that I want to do some serial fiction, probably to the tune of around 2,500 words per week (about 10 pages if printed). I think it’s still–sadly–in the world-building phase at the moment. I know a few things about the main character, primarily that he’s searching for various pieces of mystical armor. I don’t know why, though. I know that the different pieces can be summoned and dispelled by the wearer at will, and that they will remain as tattoos on the user’s skin when not in use. The story will probably start with him and only one piece of gear, this one actually being a weapon of spring-loaded claws. Each piece has an independent magical ability, and I think the claws can create fire and ice by focusing or dispersing heat energy.

There are a few other characters I’m moderately aware of, but I don’t know exactly who they are or how they tie into the story. There’s an innocent young girl with a guardian of (unknown to her) pure evil, a lecherous knight holy only in name, a rotund fellow with a bizarre fixation on prime numbers and other mathematical principles, and a psychic healer who wants to keep her eyes on a precious family heirloom. These will probably not be in the same story arcs, though their paths may cross eventually. I want to see where the serial is heading before I start, but I also know that I’m going to start with no clear idea of an ending. This may continue for a very long time.

I’ve got other stories in mind, but I don’t dare start them until I finish some more of these. I don’t even know if I’ll start the serial before the zombie shorts are completed, but it’s definitely on the “upcoming” list.

In the meantime, I’ll try to get “Coward” out for you guys soon and may post another chapter or two from Soulless as I work on finishing the first draft. With luck, I should be done with Soulless by the time the fifth zombie story is published, but check back with me later and I’ll see how I’m coming along on that. I think the doldrums of the past month have convinced me to pick up the pace and finish what I think is a good story.

Let me know what you think. Hope you enjoy!

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

