Breeze

Sorry guys, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted any updates. Life has been a bit of a rollercoaster lately, but I think things are getting more organized. Editing can be discouraging at times as well, but there always is the comfort of knowing the material gets better with each and every pass. I originally intended to have the five zombie stories (I’m deciding on naming the series Ereptor, after all) to release every three months, and I’m already two behind on “Coward.” So, eesh, sorry about that one. Forgive me?

The good news is that “Coward” is nearly done. The major revision is almost complete, and then I’ll get some feedback from my alphas and betas and get it all straightened out. I hate to slap another “soon” label on this one, but that, luckily, is the timeframe I’m working in now. Expect it by the end of the month.

I know the direction of the fourth Ereptor story now, but I’m going to hold off for a bit. Soulless has been gathering too much dust lately, so I’m going to focus there and get it done. It’s rapidly approaching the 100,000 word mark, and I do not expect it to go far beyond that. It’s meant to be a 350-500 page story and should fall well within those boundaries.

“Siren” is still free-to-read for a while longer, even though I initially said it would only be so for about a week. Feel free to check it out!

I also experimented with some flash fiction over the weekend. It’s always held a strange fascination with me, and I thought struggling to fit a story into a very tight word count would be a fun challenge. At 196 words, here is “Breeze.” Let me know what you think!

* * * * *

Moonlight beamed through my open window, first through the bug screen and then through the dreamcatcher. A midsummer’s wind tilted the charm first to the left, then back to the right and left again. Mom made it at some camp decades ago when she was in her childhood and later wanted me to have it.

I couldn’t give it up. Not after, well, you know.

I tried not to look at it. It gave me the creeps. Mom said nightmares were too big to pass through and remained trapped until morning where they would die in the sunrise. Was that true? Dreamcatchers were supposed to degrade, but that camp gave the kids lasting materials. So old, and I wondered how many nightmares remained soaked in the net.

I tried not to look at it, instead rolling to one side and pulling blankets over my head. It was stifling beneath, but I couldn’t keep staring into that well of nightmares. So long it soaked. No magic, only a child’s toy made years ago at camp.

I saw its shadow even from beneath the blankets. I peered over, and the charm tilted left, then right, then left again.

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

