The Next Big Thing? Here’s hoping!

While scrolling through Facebook, I saw Angela Scott looking to tag some other writers in one of her blog posts (and I’m guessing she had much the same experience earlier). The post is a part of The Next Big Thing (I’ll be a part of week nine) and involves answering a few simple questions about a WIP (Work In Progress for those of you who don’t see the abbreviation every day). I have 2 WIPs at the moment, but Soulless is closest to being done, so I’ll start there.

1: What is the working title of your book?

Soulless.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

It’s hard to even say since it’s been so long since I started putting the plot together. Most of my stories end up having wings in them at some point, and I knew that I wanted them to serve as a source of power in Soulless. I wanted to see them as a source of division between two races on a single planet, and I wanted to see what would happen when the race without the wings decided that the disparity was unfair.

3. What genre does the book fall under?

It’s fantasy. I try to keep it in a more Victorian style, but I doubt it will become steampunk in revisions. There are machines, though. I think the largest emphasis is on trains and guns.

4. What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I… Hmm. I guess I’d never actually thought about that. I would honestly be scared to say anything, since I know anyone I mention now would be too old by the time a Soulless movie actually comes out. I know what my characters look like and all, but I feel like finding an actor would be so much more than that. Maybe Mieta would look a little like Mila Kunis, but I don’t know how much actual chemistry there would be. Maybe someone like Brad Pitt for Blood-Emperor Theop? Doubtful, but I think that would be a good fit. As for other characters, I could keep throwing out names, but the honest truth is that I don’t keep up with enough actors to make good decisions. I’ll leave that to the studio if it comes down to it, haha.

However, I could go on for days about a movie soundtrack.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Three people have their wings taken from them and try to find justice.

That’s…a sloppy synopsis, but the question said one sentence, and I find a one sentence description much more tolerable than an eight paragraph one. I’ll be sure to elaborate much more later if you’ll have it.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I would love to be represented! I have a few agents in mind that I’ll shop it around to once the story is edited, revised, revised again, and revised a third or eighth time. It’s always nice to know that self-publishing is an option now, but I would give anything to be able to hold Soulless as a book, run my fingers along the pages in a rush, and get a good whiff of the smell of paper. Self-publishing will be a last resort I guess, but it’s one I’ll go to if that’s what it takes to get the story out there.

7. How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript? 

I started writing this draft in . . . I think May or June of 2011, so about 15 months if I can sit down and finish writing it this week. Longer than it should have, but I did manage to put out both “Siren” and “Coward” of the Ereptor series during that time.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? 

Er, this is a tricky one, I suppose. In my mind, the story is so much more visual. The setting feels a bit like Fullmetal Alchemist in my mind. Lots of magic, technology, and action where appropriate. I try my best to make the setting scientifically sound, but there are parts to be driven by the science of magic.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I have a few ideas littering my skull, shelved away as stacks of notes, scenes, and characters for later use. I attempted writing some of those but always came away disappointed. Honestly, the current story I’m writing is the fifth or sixth incarnation of Soulless and the first one to survive past the first chapter or two (I’ll start writing chapter 57 tomorrow!). I started writing the story in third person instead of first, and the story took off. I wrote and wrote, and I thought This one is actually happening. I’m writing this one! I wrote this story because the characters said I was ready. Corny? Yes. But it’s true.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s what I think of as The Beginning. This story starts and stands on its own, but it leads in to so much more that I have in store. Soulless will be at the very core of most of my writing, even years later. This story is the shockwave that will reverberate through my tales and will show the first glimpse of the world in my mind that I’m trying to show.

Also lots of magic, bullets, and battles!

Okay, the rules of this said to tag 5 other authors, but I guess I’ve fallen behind on networking. I’ll cheat off of Angela Scott, though, and post the others that she tagged. Check them out, and I’m sure you’ll see some interesting responses!

Jay Taylor
Frog and Esther Jones
Nanette Pitts

And be sure to take a look at Angela’s novel Wanted: Dead or Undead, on Amazon for only $0.99. It’s a zombie western, and I know how much you guys like zombies. I read this book a few months ago and am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

I think maybe I was supposed to wait a week before posting this, but I hope you’ll forgive me for jumping the gun a little.

I’ve got big things on the way, guys. I hope you enjoy!

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Big Thing? Here’s hoping!

  1. Writing Jobs says:

    I enjoyed reading today’s post very much. Have a great day.

    Writers Wanted – Writing Jobs Available

Leave a Reply

