I didn’t realize it had been so long, part 2

Time has a way of getting away from you, and I was more than a little shocked to see that it had been 10 months (!) since I updated here. I can say that a lot has happened since then, though! I moved, got a new job, started to finally make headway in the battle against depression and anxiety, and I even met a personal goal during NaNoWriMo.

Let’s start with that.

Many of you know the gist of NaNoWriMo: Writers crank out 50,000 words in a novel in 30 days. It doesn’t have to be a complete novel, and I suppose you can turn in less if you have a completed work that’s not quite novel-length. I guess I wasn’t particularly inspired to start a new project, since I’ve had Soulless going for so long now, so I worked on what I had. I made a lot of headway with Soulless this time. As a matter of fact, I only have about 10,000 words left for revision before the second draft is done. I don’t have the exact count on me at the moment, but I believe I revised about 52,000 words worth of material during NaNoWriMo. I see some things that need to be changed, but otherwise I’m feeling much better about it, and I think you guys will really enjoy it once I finish.

That being said, I’ve never been immune to holiday depression, and that started adding up around Thanksgiving. There were some changes at work at the same time too, and I think that contributed to the stagnation. I would look at Soulless and wonder why the hell I wasn’t finishing it. I only had 10,000 words left. Out of about 140,000. So there it sat for what seems to be 4 months now, gathering dust. Well, metaphorically. eDust, you might call it. It did give me more time to gather thoughts about what I want to happen with the story. Some minor elements need to be changed here and there, but it’s working.

Some of you that know me personally know that I’m finally in therapy and taking medication for the depression and anxiety. This is a huge step for me by itself, and it’s got me itching to finish the book. I read through the epilogue a few days ago and shocked myself to see that I loved it. I’d been beneath the burden of self-deprecation for so long that I expected to hate everything about it and debate scrapping it all for a new project or just giving up entirely. Taking more control in my own life has helped me realize that something is here. The story isn’t perfect (nor will it ever be perfect), but I realize now that I want to get it as close to perfect as I can. I feel capable. It’s an alien feeling, but it’s one that I can grow to like.

I was published, too! This happened back in October for Calhoun County Insight’s Halloween issue. The story is called “Coal Creek” and is about a pair of young magazine photographers investigating a haunted field in the mountains of rural northern Georgia. I went a little over the word count, but the editors were gracious enough to allow me some extra space.

You can check it out here.

Feel free to check out my Facebook page as well. I’ll try updating more often there, too.

That covers the major points for now, I suppose. I promise I’ll try to update more often, and I’m going to finish those last 10,000 words. I’ll update the Soulless sample chapters, and may even throw up a few more in time. I’ve been doing some work with art again, too (for the first time since high school, really), so I’ll add some sketches in the coming weeks.

Thanks for sticking with me. I’ll try to not be such a stranger any more.

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

