Gearing up for NaNoWrimo

Okay, I’m not so much doing NaNoWriMo this year as ShortStoryPalooza.

November 1 is still several hours away, so I thought I’d take the time out here to go over some plans. I’m still shifting gears a bit as I swap over from Inktober with Reddit’s Sketchdaily community (I got 26/31 as a first-timer!). I think the art has steadily improved–with a few hiccups–since my last art post, and drawing has definitely made an impact on the frequency and severity of my depression. I’ll post a few images below, but they’re all posted on my Tumblr. Yes, even the more NSFW-ish, PG-13 ones that I’m uncomfortable posting to Facebook.

But let’s talk about writing. My first instinct was to do as I did last year and get another revision of Soulless out and done with, but I’m still waiting on general feedback from the second draft. That being said, I’ve been waiting quite a while, so I may decide to forge ahead and do the third draft on my own. We’ll see. I also wanted to generate some new content, since I’ve flagged behind on that recently, with the except of last month’s “Anchor.”

“Anchor” definitely got me in the mood to write again, but I got more than a little wrapped up in drawing. There still will be art coming out this month (for those of you visiting my WordPress via Tumblr), but writing will take up most of my time. I talked with my friend Ben from Calhoun County Insight, the magazine that ran “Anchor,” and the feedback seemed generally positive. That’s not to say there was a ton of feedback, but that I did get seemed good.

I also don’t want to start a new novel at the moment. I have ideas for several more (science fantasy, fantasy noir, more zompocalypse), but Soulless needs my attention for the Grand Work at the moment. Perhaps other writers can crank out multiple books in one go, but I don’t think I’m one of those. Not yet anyway. Not when I haven’t published my first single novel.

So here are my plans for the month:

“Her.” This one will be based on a dream I had a few years ago, one where I found myself being increasingly erased from someone’s memory. I tried writing this story a little over a year ago, but I lost steam and shelved it about a third of the way in. I’ll start again from the beginning and get my head back into it. I’ll expect this one to be around 8,000 words, but it may run longer to 10,000.

“Jergen.” Ereptor, part four. This one just needs an ending. I forget how many words I am into it, but I think it’s at least halfway done. It follows the story of Doc Jergen from “Siren.” Three months after the events in “Siren,” he accompanies the team that start clearing Drayton into Downtown Atlanta in search of a rare, complete zombie. One review on Amazon said that “Coward” was when I made my brand of zombies my own, but I think “Jergen” will clench it. This one begins the shift from zombie apocalypse to apocalyptic urban fantasy. I think this will end up around 15,000 to 18,000 words. Mind you, most of those are done already, but I’ll be honest in my reporting.

“Tim.” I guess I may as well try to conclude the Ereptor series, and this is as good of a time as any. Things are still sketchy at this point. I do know that this will leave the path open to begin the Ereptor novel, beginning with the aforementioned concert from “Siren” and “Coward.” “Tim” will largely deal with the difficult decisions of law in the new world as well as the general esteem of retired Valkyries. I’m expecting 17,500 to 20,000 words. Maybe less, maybe more.

If I finish both of those, I’ll try to bundle them all together into a single Ereptor volume by Christmas. If I’m able to, I’ll roll them over into the “Freya” file so that anyone who bought that one before will get the complete set for free. I’ll contact Amazon and see if I can do it. If so, I’m leaning toward a $3.99 price. I think it seems fair. What do you guys think?

Even at the maximum, I’ve only laid ground for about 40,000 words, and that’s pushing it. I believe I can think of enough to fill in the other 10,000. If not, I’ll get back to work on Soulless and if I can’t get this third draft started.

Thanks for sticking with me and being patient.

I guess I’ll toss up some drawings now. I hope you guys enjoy!

rgdampburrito

Redditgetsdrawn user: Ampburrito

rgdboobiesandbooze

Redditgetsdrawn user: Boobiesandbooze

I wasn’t as happy with this one, but it did start to bring me out of a mid-October slump. Things improved, and this one is still better than some previous posts.

rgdtitttsmcgee

Redditgetsdrawn user: Titttsmcgee

skdtwi'lek

Sketchdaily theme: Weird Hair (Darth Talon)

skdapple

Sketchdaily theme: Apple (Which also is the name of a Suikoden character)

IMG_20141003_213024_998

Sketchdaily theme: Super Smash Bros. (Marth from the Fire Emblem series)

skdwonderwoman

Wonder Woman as seen briefly in 2010.

skdshoggoth

Sketchdaily theme: Your pet (I don’t have a pet, so I drew a shoggoth.)

skdmummalien

Sketchdaily theme: Monster Mashup (Alien + mummy)

skdslenderwoman

Sketchdaily theme: Gender Bent Monsters (Slender Woman)

skdmonstergen

Sketchdaily theme: Monster Generator (“This towering humanoid creature can be found in places touched by dark powers. It attacks with spikes, ice, and lightning.”)

Okay, that’s all I wanted to share for now. I’ll try to remember to post more as NaNoWriMo progresses. Thanks again for sticking through all of this!

About Brad

I'm a writer and feel like it's finally time to get my stuff out there. I'll try to learn how to keep you guys entertained. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

